Board of Directors and Group Management

Get to know our Board of Directors and Group Management better.

Statnett's Board of Directors

Jon Fredrik  Baksaas
Jon Fredrik Baksaas

Board member since 2018, Chairman since 2018.

Experience: CEO of Telenor 2002–2015. Prior to that, a number of key positions at Telenor. Experience from Aker, Stolt-Nielsen Seaway and Det Norske Veritas.

After Telenor: International telecom consultant and advisor for Norwegian technology start-ups, also in the energy sector.

Board member of LM Ericsson AB and Handelsbanken AB.

Tove Elisabeth  Pettersen
Tove Elisabeth Pettersen
Deputy Chair

Board member since 2018.

Experience: Chief Corporate Affairs Officer of Bane NOR SF, former Senior Vice President at Hafslund ASA.

Maria  Sandsmark
Maria Sandsmark
Board member

Board member since 2013.

Member of the Remuneration Committee and the Project Committee

Experience: Researcher at Møreforskning Molde AS, Associate Professor at Molde University College and consultant at ECON analysis.

Egil  Gjesteland
Egil Gjesteland
Board member

Board member since 2012.

Head of the Project Committee.

Directorships: Egypt Solar B.V.

Experience: Owner of Gjesteland Consulting, IT Director and Project Director for a number of Statoil’s oil and gas projects.

Christian  Reusch
Christian Reusch
Board member

Elected in 2020, board member

Christian Reusch is a lawyer from the University of Oslo. He is a lawyer and partner in Simonsen Vogt Wiig and has right to attend in the Supreme Court. In addition, Reusch has long experience from the Government Attorney, and he has been the Deputy Director at the Prime Minister's Office. Reusch was also a member of the Lysne II committee, which among other things studied digital border defence.

Wenche  Teigland
Wenche Teigland
Board member

Elected in 2020, board member

Wenche Teigland is a civil engineer and has very good knowledge of the power industry. She has been a member of the BKK Group Management for 13 years.

Wenche has good knowledge of grid operations and the Nordic and European power markets, and in 2012 she was a member of the government-appointed energy committee. Teigland is also a board member of the Vy Group.

Ole Bjørn Kirstihagen
Ole Bjørn Kirstihagen
Employee-elected Board member

Experience: Operator at Norsk Hydro’s systems control centre. Worked with procurement and operation of computer systems at Statnett’s control centres. Chief Employee Representative / Head of NITO’s (The Norwegian Society of Engineers and Technologists) corporate group at Statnett.

Steinar  Jøråndstad
Steinar Jøråndstad
Employee-elected Board member

Employee-elected Board member since 2004, employee since 1981.

Member of the project committee.

Experience: Team coordinator in Statnett’s division for Systems Operations, Asset Management and Markets, Head of the nationwide Electrician and IT Workers Union, member of the Working Environment Committee and Chief Safety Representative at Statnett.

Ingeborg  Ligaarden
Ingeborg Ligaarden
Employee-elected Board member

Experience: Senior analyst/product owner in Technology and Development, former risk manager. Prior to Statnett, Senior Consultant at Lloyd's Register/Scandpower and Researcher at SINTEF. Board experience from Tekna (The Norwegian Society of Graduate Technical and Scientific Professionals).

Statnett's Group Management

Hilde Tonne
Hilde Tonne
President and CEO

Employed in March 2021
Education: M.Sc. NTH, Trondheim Norway and RWTH Aachen, Germany.
Working experience: Executive Director and Chief Innovation Officer, Ramboll Group. Member of the Group Executive Board in Telenor Group as i.a. EVP Group Industrial Development and Deputy Head of Asia. Tonne also served in different leadership positions in the oil and energy business, last as Head of Technology & Research in Hydro Oil & Energy
Directorships: Chairman of the board of the Norwegian Research Council

Håkon Borgen
Håkon Borgen
Executive Vice President Offshore Development

Employed in 1995 and a member of Group management since 2004.

Education/qualifications: M.Sc. NTH, Trondheim Norway and Technische Hochschule Darmstadt (THD) in Germany.

Previous positions: Several executive positions at BKK and several directorships at Statnett.

Directorships: Chair of NordLink Norge AS. 

Elisabeth  Vike Vardheim
Elisabeth Vike Vardheim
Executive Vice President Grid & Asset Managment

Employed in 2007 and a member of Group management since 2014.

Education/qualifications: MSc from NTH, Degree in Business Administration, Master’s in Board Governance from the Norwegian Business School (BI).

Previous positions: Executive positions at Statnett, in the public sectorand in construction projects.

Peer Olav Østli
Peer Olav Østli
Executive Vice President System Operations

Employed in 2007 and a member of Group management since 2007.

Education/qualifications: Master’s in Computer Science from UiO, Oslo Norway and postgraduate studies in management from Henley Business School in the UK.

Previous positions: Director at Telenor, Schibsted Nett and Scandinavia Online AB, Head of Technology at NRK.


Knut  Hundhammer
Knut Hundhammer
Executive Vice President Finance & Corporate Affairs

Employed in 2011 and a member of Group management since 2011.

Education/qualifications: Norwegian Military Academy and MBA from Wharton School of Business in the USA.

Previous positions: Company Commander in the Norwegian Armed Forces, consultant at McKinsey & Co, Director at HUAL AS, CFO of Finansbanken ASA, President of Klavenes Gruppen and President of the Norwegian Defence and Security Industries Association (FSi). 

Beate  Sander Krogstad
Beate Sander Krogstad
Executive Vice President Transformation & Digital

Employed in 2009 and a member of group management since 2019.

Education and qualifications: Master’s degree in Physics and Mathematics from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) and postgraduate studies in international management from the FGV Foundation in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Previous positions: Manager at Accenture, several management roles and directorships at Statnett
Directorships: Chariman; Fifty As, Board member; Helse Vest IKT and Digital Norway


Gunnar G. Løvås
Gunnar G. Løvås
Executive Vice President Markets & System Development

Employed first time in 1994 and hired again in 2019. Løvås has been a member of Group management from 2007-2014 and from 2019.
Education and qualifications: : M.Sc. NTH, Trondheim Norway and a doctorate in mathematical statistics from the UiO, Oslo Norway.
Previous positions: Differetnt executive positions at Statnett. Between 2014-2016 he was Deputy Director General at the Norwegian National Rail Administration.
Directorships: Chairman in Elhub AS, boardme ber in Fifty AS, NordLink Norge AS.

Bente Monica  Haaland
Bente Monica Haaland
Acting Executive Vice President People & Sustainability

Employed in 1993 and a member of Group management between 2014-2019.

Education/qualifications: MSc from the University of Aberdeen and Master's in Management from the Norwegian Business School (BI).

Previous positions: Executive positions at Statnett, Statkraft and Eclipse Energy Group.